265 Madison SE

Built in: 1896
Style: Queen Anne/Shingle
Description:
2001 Tour
Comments:
An 1885 Queen Anne house that served as a parsonage for the First Methodist Church through nearly two and a half decades. Now it?s the home of a couple and their dream: a charming bed and breakfast with a decidedly Scottish flavor. Home Tour write-up 2001: This shingle-style Queen Anne is full of charm, inside and out. Note the Gambrel roof, popular to many shingle-style homes of the late 1800's and early 1900's. From 1885 to 1895 this house was home to William A. Beneke. Albert Himes, president of the A. Himes Coal Company, and his wife Maria, purchased the home in 1896. The Himes family remained in the house until around 1920. The house then became a parsonage for the First Methodist Church. Sometime during the 1950's the house was converted to a two-unit apartment house. The home was returned to a single family in 1983.
Past Owners:
Beneke, William A. - Original Owner
Himes, Albert
McClung, Georege H. & Kilpatrick, Lester A.
Seaks, William L.
Images and Documents
To download an image or document, right click on it and choose Save As. To print the architectural cards without having to download the file, right click on the thumbnail and open it in a new browser window. Right click and choose print.