241 Madison SEBuilt in: 1892
Lamos House - Walking TourComments:
Calendar write-up 1975: This lovely Craftsman style home was built in 1892 by Horace A. Lamos, a restaurateur at the Union Depot. The unique portico features both pillars and pilasters occurring adjacent to each other. Both Adam and Classic Revival influences are evident here. Of interest is the dormer which has a curved Regency roofline. From 1918 until 1952, this was the home of Eugene Congers, President of Old Kent Bank. Mr. Congers came to Grand Rapids in 1884, took a 6-month business course and began his career as a bookkeeper for the "Grand Rapids Telegram"' which merged with the "Herald" and operated until 1888 when Congers and G.G. Swensberg bought control. In 1901, Mr. Congers began his banking career when he was named as a director of the People's Savings Bank, which merged with Old National Bank in 1924 to become the Old Kent Bank. ( Eugene Congers of Herald & OKB )Past Owners:
Lamos, Horace A. - Original OwnerImages and Documents
To download an image or document, right click on it and choose Save As. To print the architectural cards without having to download the file, right click on the thumbnail and open it in a new browser window. Right click and choose print.